The Connecticut Municipal Electric Energy Cooperative (“CMEEC”) is a publicly directed joint action supply agency formed by the state’s municipal electric utilities in 1976 under authority of the state’s General Statutes. CMEEC is owned by the municipal utilities in the cities of Groton and Norwich, the Borough of Jewett City, and the Second (South Norwalk) and Third (East Norwalk) Taxing Districts of the City of Norwalk, Connecticut. CMEEC also provides all the power required by other utilities participating in CMEEC including the Town of Wallingford Department of Public Utilities, the Bozrah Light and Power Company , and the Mohegan Tribal Utility Authority. 

CMEEC is responsible for the financing, acquisition and construction of generating resources and implementation of power supply contracts for the purpose of furnishing low-cost and reliable electric power to its Members and Participants.
Electric energy purchase contracts and other resources obtained by CMEEC supply power to each of the community-owned utilities. The utilities in turn distribute the power at retail to local homes and businesses at the lowest prices in Connecticut. Connecticut’s municipal utilities supply electric power to over 66,000 customers including some of the largest and most prominent industries in Connecticut. 

Sources of electric power range from fossil-fueled generators to nuclear plants to hydroelectric stations in Connecticut to massive power dams in Canada and New York. Power is acquired from different generating sources, including short- and long-term contracts for different types of power purchases and municipally-owned generating stations, and from joint ownership arrangements.

Since 1985, CMEEC has served as the Designated Bargaining Agent for the State of Connecticut with respect to the state’s allocation of Niagara and St. Lawrence power from the New York Power Authority.

CMEEC represents the members and participants as a single-entity participant in the regional Independent System Operation (ISO-New England) and the New England Power Pool (NEPOOL). Power is transmitted to municipal utilities under negotiated rights to interconnecting transmission systems.

The organizational structure of CMEEC is a partnership of municipal utilities, which through their ownership of and active participation in CMEEC provide the overall direction to CMEEC. CMEEC is governed by a Board of Directors made up of 2 representatives from each of the 6 Connecticut municipal utilities. The Board sets policy for CMEEC and performs other duties and responsibilities as determined by applicable State Statutes or the bylaws of CMEEC. 

CMEEC also represents the members and participants as a single-entity member of the American Public Power Association (APPA), the Northeast Public Power Association (NEPPA), the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA), and the Connecticut Valley Electric Exchange (CONVEX) whose website provides advisories and a current overview of our power system's reliability.